Working Virtually

June 6, 2017

Robo calls

Filed under: Uncategorized — pwalbridge @ 4:42 pm

I get them on my work phone.  My disabled husband gets them on his old flip phone.  If I plugged in on my landline I’d get them on that.   My husband bought it thinking he was going to use the landline and since he’s hard of hearing, the ringer is loud.  I can’t have that going off while working.  So yes, it even affects people who work phones for a living.

 

I suppose a person could be vindictive and could say something like, “How does it feel?”  It would be appropriate if I operated the same way.  I don’t.  There are legal telemarketing hours to work in and you need to watch your time zones, among many other laws governing what I do.  I have a hard time with that now because the people I contact can have an eastern time area code and be located on the other coast without my knowing.

 

I worked at one place in the southwest years ago that wasn’t all that bad.  We sold newspapers coast to coast on an autodialer that would connect you when the call was live.  I did pretty well with the northeasterners, not so good with those on the west coast.  Two completely different cultures.  This was in the ‘90’s though, when there might have still been some respect for the person on the other line.  Companies might not have been pinching marketing pennies so hard.

 

I wonder if the rise of these is due to not respecting your neighbor because there is no self respect? Only caring about the dollar?  But without money, a company and the jobs it provides can’t exist.   Without respecting yourself, you can’t respect your neighbor.  I can understand the company trying to find the best way to market a product or service and dealing with a budget.  I can understand the product or service might be an impulse purchase so the plan is just to “hammer” people.  Did they have the budget to put toward a market analysis?  Or did they try to do that and it blew up in their face?  Because you market to everybody, you market to nobody.  And this is aimed toward private industry.  The scams are another subject entirely.  People who do scams by nature will not obey laws.  They only care about themselves.

 

Looking back at an old post, I wonder if boiler rooms exist anymore.  It’s less expensive to put machines to work dialing and maybe pay telecommuters pennies on the dollar.  And I can well understand that the Do Not Call list is useless since it takes nothing to get around it.  I believe that list was started by the government.  If tax dollars are going to it, shut it down.  It’s worthless.

 

How would a private industry benefit from this problem?  Because while it’s all well and good that government attempts to do something, that’s all it usually winds up being is an attempt and still another of many roads for our tax dollars to uselessly travel.  One company has sprung up that probably just needs to be expanded on:  Nomorobo.  Provide a service to keep these down.  I can hear the argument of “I shouldn’t have to pay to keep these away”.  Well, the marketing industry is always evolving.  The phone is still the best way to reach people.  And scams don’t care so no government law will affect them.  Or at least it may take 10-20 years to shut somebody down and by that time 20,000 more have sprung up.  Necessity is the mother of invention.

 

Screening your calls works well.  I understand completely when people call me back after listening to my message.  I’ve had countless people tell me they won’t pick up initially.  But my market is a lot more respectful of each other.  Or should that matter?

 

A commenter in an article mentioned about making something like Nomorobo a part of normal phone service.  Another commenter mentioned about having a phone with a call blocking button.  Still another wondered about disrupting profits enough (hit them in the wallet) so they’re overwhelmed.  The first two I think are more doable.  There needs to be incentive for both the phone company and Nomorobo though to encourage a match.  Why should they get together?  Since companies are motivated by profit, a deal would need to be made.  If a company can’t profit, they can’t exist. Yes, it might be a good idea but we all still need to put food on our table and a roof over our heads and nice thoughts alone might not get that job done.   Since most of what government gets involved in winds up not working, I REALLY don’t want them to make the first move.  But that unfortunately might be where the movement starts.  People complain about “corporate welfare”.  Is that really bad when it’s something useful like this?

 

Somethings to think about.

https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/blog/telemarketer-3-rise-robocalls

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

